Large Format Home Developing

Today I developed 4×5 large format film at home for the first time! Last summer I was able to get my hands on the Mod 54, a very slick film holder that fits inside a standard Paterson tank. The Mod 54 holds up to six sheets of 4×5 film and allows for processing without a darkroom. I used to have a really nice Wista 4×5 camera but alas, I sold it to raise funds for more important cameras! So now the only 4×5 in my possession is an old, very beat up Graflex Speed Graphic. The lens is an old Zeiss Jena Tessar 13.5cm f/4.5. But I recently picked up a box of Neopan 100 Acros and over the past several days I shot 6 frames.

Contrast was pretty low so I had to do a bit more work in post, and the critical sharpness isn’t really there but it was still a lot of fun. Something pretty amazing about a negative that’s the size of a postcard! Scanned at 2400 dpi these files end up being about 11,000 pixels wide and over 8,700 pixels high! In digital terminology that comes in at just under 100 megapixels!

This entry was posted in Graflex Speed Graphic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

